Aeroturbines

https://i2.wp.com/www.metaefficient.com/images/aerotecture_wind_turbine.jpg

I just recently came across this interesting product, long story short it is a different design for wind turbines. I am not one of those people who goes on and on about greener energy sources, but I am one of those who appreciates a good idea.

I have a YouTube video for you which explains everything better than I ever could, but here is a brief outline given on the site:

“Aeroturbines are wind turbines designed for urban settings.  Invented by University of Illinois industrial design professor, Bil Becker, Aeroturbines are a new development in wind turbine technology.  Aeroturbines can be installed on existing rooftops or built into the architecture of new buildings to provide clean renewable electricity at its site of consumption.  Aeroturbines are uniquely suited to urban environments because they are:

  • Noise and vibration-free
  • Safe for birds
  • Able to utilize multi-directional and gusting winds
  • Self-regulating (no overspeed protection required)
  • Low maintenance
  • Made from low-cost and readily available materials”

http://www.aerotecture.com

Personally I am just glad that people are going a different way about things with wind power. I have nothing against the current turbines, in fact I really like them, how they look and sound is very appealing to me. But I think these Aeroturbines are just perfect. That is all I have to say really, I hope you found this interesting.

Leave a Reply

